A gripe about the world of clothing….

The old saying goes, “Clothes make the man.” Clothes don’t make the man, really, but being properly dressed can affect how people see you. It’s up to you to work on that via personality, conversation, etc. You know, all the stuff we increasingly don’t do because online conversation is now more common than face to face.

But I digress.

I think every guy has at least one suit in his closet. It’s just a necessity for us. Plus, when it’s properly maintained and we’re groomed, we look damn good in it. For a proper example of this, see Elijah Mikaelson from “The Originals.”

While we can buy suits off the rack and wear them, men prefer to get them tailored so they fit and look better. It makes sense. Suits are a monetary investment and we want to get the most out of them. Spending a little more cash to make sure it fits properly is a wise move.

With that in mind, I went to 2 locations not too far from my place to get suits. As I was there, I also inquired whether they make alterations. Both places said they do not.

What. The. FUCK?!?

How do you not make alterations? You sell suits, for fuck’s sake! No guy I know just wears them off the rack. It’s taboo among us to do that. Why would you not offer this basic service that will not only make your customers look good, but will also make you money and get you repeat business? Are you stupid or just blind? Or both?

I’m not going to buy a suit from you if you don’t do alterations. I can wait for you to do them. Whether it’s a day or a week, I’m fine with that. I can roll out of bed and be at your store, so that’s not an issue. But you lose business if you don’t do them, and I won’t spend my money at your store. I can go elsewhere, buy the suit and have them do the alterations.

I urge all men’s clothing stores, especially the ones that sell suits, to have a tailor on the payroll. Well-dressed customers become repeat customers. Don’t screw yourself out of money because you’re too cheap to have a tailor on-site.

Leave a Reply

