Getting older. God, it sucks.

So, my birthday is next Thursday.

If you can’t tell, there is a distinct lack of excitement in that statement. Why? Because 1-it’s a Thursday and 2-I have no plans for it other than a Geist game on Friday.

I’d love to do something that weekend. Something, anything. Hell, I’d be fine with dinner at fucking Burger King. It’s not about where to go or what to do. It’s about being with people, sharing time together, having a laugh at someone else’s expense. You know, the good stuff.

Riiiiiight. Like that’ll happen.

Much as my luck would have it, my birthday falls the same weekend as Mother’s Day. And as past experience has shown, the simple plan of dinner either Friday or Saturday night gets shot down under the abyssal din of, “But it’s Mother’s Day on Sunday! I gotta plan that.”

So the extravagant plans you have- which, in 90% of cases, is taking her out for dinner, or ordering in, or actually just sitting at home- somehow prevents you from doing ANYTHING at all the entire weekend? Wow. I gotta say, that’s some effort you’re putting in. Tell me, does it involve catering a 6 course meal? Setting up a concert? Doing something similar that requires monumental effort? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

So if one of you that knows me reads this and wants to do something for me, cool. If not, I’ll just chalk this birthday up as another disappointment.

Leave a Reply

